Cultured Almond milk?

So… I’m working to ween myself of of animal products and by-products gradually.  A few days ago I discovered that you can purchase non-dairy yogurt (aside from the soy yogurt that has been out for a while) and I was super excited! Yogurt has been a part of my daily mourning breakfast routine since 2008 (before that I hated yogurt!  And anything else white and creamy…think what you will lol), when I learned the benefits it has for digestive and vaginal health:-)  But when I decided to embark on a new lifestyle that includes less of the animal stuff and more of the raw, fruity and leafy stuff, I was kind of devastated…

Now I learned of a couple other options to take the place of the dairy yogurt I had grown to love: cultured almond milk and cultured coconut milk!  I bought some of the cultured almond milk, and umm.. I can’t get with it.  Now it was my first time today, so I shouldn’t rule it completely out, but I do NOT like the way it feels.  The consistency is like gelatin, but it’s creamy and opaque (not a good combination).  I haven’t tried the cultured coconut milk yet, and probably will next, but does anyone know of a yogurt alternative (besides soy yogurt) that is vegan but has the same consistency as regular yogurt and all the above noted benefits?  Perhaps it’s just the brand I purchased? (Amande – you have to scroll down a bit to find it).

Please help!!

About Ashley Snowden

Educator, Idealist, Humanitarian Sister, Daughter, Aunt, Wife Queen, Lover, Warrior View all posts by Ashley Snowden

One response to “Cultured Almond milk?

  • Marci Szuch

    With so many more people developing allergies and sensitivities to dairy products, finding tasty and cheap alternatives to milk can be a challenge. One tasty alternative that can be used in cooking and everyday use is almond milk. But honestly, almond milk can get pricey. Instead try making your own almond milk for a quick and easy project that is fun to do with the kids…

    Most recent posting straight from our personal blog
    <http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/hcg-diet-side-effects/

Leave a Reply

